Motherhood

A Letter to My Daughter

To My Dearest Princess,

7 Years ago you change my life. You brought Love, light and laughter, chaos, craziness and confusion, and I would not have it any other way.

The moment I laid eyes on you I knew that I would do anything for you, I knew that without thought for myself I would lay down my life for you. I knew that I would love you unconditionally for the rest of my life and that while you will love me too, one day when you experience this moment you will realise that a mothers love for her child is the greatest love in this world. I knew that no matter how much I loved my own mother her love for me far eclipsed what I ever imagined.

I realised that the Human body is truly incredible that is can grow an entire tiny human and provide nourishment to that tiny human even once they have entered this world. I learnt that despite all the best intentions the early days of breastfeeding come with, pain and discomfort, guilt and fear and require resolve and determination to get through that comes from deep within.

I will never forget that moment you were laid on my chest and I held you close to my heart, I never wanted to let you go. I thought my heart would burst with Love and as you grew and started to gain your independence I learnt my heart could go with you where I could not. I leant that your bonds with others were important and did not diminish our love and connection, they only made them stronger as you learn that I was the safe place to land after a big day.

I also learnt some difficult lessons. I learnt what exhaustion really feels like and that when your brain is tired it becomes irrational, reactive and consumed by fear. I learnt to understand that patience really is a virtue and one I needed to work on. I learnt that my own fears of failure would rear up and leave me paralysed with indecision as I tried to always make the right choices for you and our family. I learnt that when you make mistakes you have to step up and ask for help, admit that you don’t know it all and allow others to help you. I learnt that asking for help is not failure, that a baby crying is not failure, that a baby with a fever is not a failure and that a baby who refuses to eat is not a failure but all opportunities to learn and grow together.

When your brothers were born I knew that the heart has no limits and that it can grow to fit all without reducing the love of any. I realised that the hard lessons we learnt together in the dark of the night, crying in fear and pain and exhaustion would serve me well as I went back into that world of raising a new born again (and again) and that if you had not been there to help me learn those lessons I would not have had the patience and resilience I needed going forward.

Now you are at school you have taught me about bravery and compassion as I watch you go out into the world, explore and create without me by your side but always in your heart. You have opened up my eyes to creativity and confidence as you grab hold of new challenges and break down barriers. You have pushed me to face my personal boundaries as I see you getting caught up in the same fears I have hidden from my entire life and I know that you came to me to help me break free from those fears so I can be the change I wish to see in the world for you. I have learnt so much in the past 7 years and I have to thank you for all those lessons, the ones you taught me and the ones you pushed me to find answers for myself.

I think forward to the day you become a Mother yourself and all the lessons you will learn from your own children. About all you will learn about Love and Life that you can only learn from being Mum. I wonder if you will even want to be a Mum at all and the life experiences and lessons that will bring to you too. I hope that you can live a life filled with adventure and love and the confidence that has always escaped me, however you choose to live it.

Thank you for choosing me.

Mum xxx


Blended Life Happy Wife

1 thought on “A Letter to My Daughter”

  1. This is such a beautiful letter and something special for your daughter to look back on . The depth of love for her is evident. Thank you so much for sharing this post in the All For Mamas Link Party week 9 #allformamas. I will share this on the Facebook group page #All For Mamas Link Party as well as on twitter and google +

    Like

Leave a Reply

